Google+ Running in Cork, Ireland: Results of the Irish Track and Field Championships - Sat 7th & Sun 8th July 2012

Sunday, July 08, 2012

Results of the Irish Track and Field Championships - Sat 7th & Sun 8th July 2012

The Irish Senior Track and Field Championships were held in the Morton Stadium in Santry, Dublin on Saturday, the 7th and Sunday, the 8th of July 2012.

Here are a selection of the results...

In the mens 100m, the Irish record holder Paul Hession just managed to stay ahead of Jason Smyth by a mere one hundredth of a second to win the title.
Men's 100 m...Wind : +1.0 Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Paul Hession Athenry A.C. 10.37, 2, Jason Smyth City of Derry 10.38, 3, Steven Colvert Crusaders A.C. 10.59

In the mens 5,000m, Mark Hanrahan of Leevale AC took the title in a time of 14:13.8
Men's 5000 m Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Mark Hanrahan Leevale A.C. 14.13.80, 2, D Mulhare Portlaois A.C. 14.14.65, 3, D Rooney Raheny Shamrock A.C. 14.16.72

Mens 5,000m final...

Fresh from his impressive performance in Helsinki, 19 year old Thomas Barr took the 400m hurdle title.
Men's 400 m Hurdles
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Tom Barr Ferrybank A.C. 50.87, 2, J Harvey Crusaders A.C. 51.43, 3, P Byrne St. Abbans A.C. 53.49

In the womens 100m, Amy Foster won in 11.60 seconds.
Women's 100 m...Wind : +0.7
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Amy Foster City of Lisburn 11.60, 2, K Proper Ferrybank A.C. 11.84, 3, N Whelan Ferrybank A.C. 11.86

In the 200m and 400m, Joanne Cuddihy made it a double victory by winning both events.

Women's 200 m...Wind : +2.5
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Joanne Cuddihy Kilkenny City Harriers A.C. 23.15, 2, N Whelan Ferrybank A.C. 23.62, 3, S Creaner Dublin City Harriers A.C. 23.71

In the 400m race, Joanne Cuddihy won by a huge margin.

Women's 400 m
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Joanne Cuddihy Kilkenny City Harriers A.C. 51.89, 2, Marian Heffernan Togher A.C. 53.32, 3, M Carey Dublin Striders A.C. 53.50, 4, C Bergin Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 54.19, 5, C Cuddihy Kilkenny City Harriers A.C. 55.27

In the womens 1500m, Orla Drumm of UCC won in a time of 4:19.55, about 10 seconds outside her personal best time of 4:09.95 set in Germany, last May.

Women's 1500 m
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Orla Drumm U.C.C. A.C. 4.19.55, 2, C Tarplee Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 4.20.23, 3, N Kelly City of Lisburn 4.21.22, 4, S Reilly Sli Cualann A.C. 4.21.81, 5, S Treacy Moynalvey/Kilcloon A.C. 4.24.42, 6, M Finn Leevale A.C. 4.35.06

In the womens 100m hurdles, Derval O'Rourke decided to pull out due to a tightness in her back and  play it safe rather than risk injury so close to the Olympics.
Women's 100 m Hurdles
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, M Murphy Ferrybank A.C. 14.47, 2, O Furney Gorey A.C. 15.08 3, E Rose City of Lisburn 15.95

Women's 400 m Hurdles Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Jessie Barr Ferrybank A.C. 57.33, 2, J Neville Leevale A.C. 62.43, 3, N Millet St. Abbans A.C. 62.43

In the womens 3000m steeplechase, Michelle Finn of Leevale AC took the title in 10:45.49...

Women's 3000 m Steeplechase
Place/Name/Club/Time...1, Michelle Finn Leevale A.C. 10.45.49, 2, F Clinton Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 11.11.67, 3, B Woods Clonliffe Harriers A.C. 11.28.09, 4, E Egan Bree A.C. 11.44.40

Tori Pena, Ireland's only pole vaulter at the London Olympics had an easy win clearing 4m 35cms.
Place/Name/Club/Hgt(m)...1, Tori Pena Finn Valley A.C. 4.35, 2, Z Browne Raheny Shamrock A.C. 3.95, 3, C Wilkinson Ballymena & Antrim A.C. 3.55

In the womens 5,000m, Maria McCambridge led from the gun with only Siobhain Doherty managing to keep in contact for the first few laps. In the end, she lapped most of the field to finish in a time of 16:02.

Women's 5000 m
1, Maria McCambridge Letterkenny A.C. 16.02.52
2, Siobhain O'Doherty Borrisokane A.C. 16.56.16
3, Lizzie Lee Leevale A.C. 17.10.51
4, N Devlin Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 17.30.75
5, E O'Brien Sligo A.C. 17.33.13
6, K O'Neill Metro/St. Brigid's A.C. 17.51.23
7, L Manning Raheny Shamrock A.C. 18.02.30
8, L Reilly Clonliffe Harriers A.C. 18.04.98
9, A Jordan Metro/St. Brigid's A.C. 18.09.28

The full results can be seen HERE

Highlights of the competition can be seen on the RTE Player HERE until the 29th of July.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

well done mark hanrahan, great stuff