Google+ Running in Cork, Ireland: Provisional Results for the 2015 National Marathon Championships

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Provisional Results for the 2015 National Marathon Championships

The annual Dublin City Marathon also doubles up as the National Marathon Championships. The provisional results have been released and you can see the medal positions below. From a Cork point of view, there are several individual category medals as well as team medals for St.Finbarr's AC, Eagle AC and Ballymore Cobh AC.

Just a note of caution! The results are provisional. You can be sure that there will be a few errors in there and it may make a difference to the end results. It's likely the individual results will remain unchanged but some of the team positions might change.

Results updated 30th Oct...(The only major change is in the M50 team category. Tullamore Harriers move up to 2nd pushing St.Finbarr's AC from 3rd to 4th)

The Cork results are in BOLD

1 Sean Hehir MS 02:19:47 Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C.
2 Gary O'Hanlon M40 02:25:23 Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
3 David Mansfield MS 02:30:47 Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

1 Raivis Zakis M35 02:33:21 West Waterford A.C.
2 Richard Gorman M35 02:33:26 Sligo A.C.
3 Ciaran Mc Gonagle M35 02:34:11 Rosses A.C.

1 Colin Merritt M40 02:32:44 Carriag-Na-Bhfear A.C.
2 Fergal Whitty M40 02:35:15 Donore Harriers
3 Michael Morgan M40 02:35:56 St. Finbarrs A.C.

1 Mick Boyle M45 02:35:08 Raheny Shamrock A.C.
2 John Murphy M45 02:46:35 Grange/Fermoy A.C.
3 Pat Dunworth M45 02:46:55 An Riocht A.C.

1 Pauric Mc Kinney M50 02:33:53 Inishowen A.C.
2 Cathal O Connell M50 02:39:04 St. Finbarrs A.C.
3 Paul Moran M50 02:42:25 Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C.

1 Norman Mawhinney M55 03:01:14 Ballydrain Harriers
2 Tom Halpin M55 03:01:23 Ballynonty A.C.
3 James Cottle M55 03:07:14 Crusaders A.C.

1 Martin Kearney M60 03:04:11 Galway City Harriers A.C.
2 Ronan Ward M60 03:04:44 Civil Service A.C.
3 Hugh Boyle M60 03:10:00  Springwell Running Club

1 Sean Whelan M65 03:29:05 Ennis Track A.C.
2 Maurice Tobin M65 03:36:37 Grange/Fermoy A.C.
3 Garry Clarke M65 03:45:12 Tallaght A.C.

1 Sam Hogg M70 04:01:35 Lagan Valley AC
2 Philip Cribbin M70 04:40:02 Clare River Harriers A.C.
3 Martin Keane M70 04:48:06 Athenry A.C.

1 Tom Horkan M75 04:45:33 Ballina A.C.

Senior Team Title
1 Raheny Shamrock A.C....Freddy Sittuk 02:15:20, Mick Boyle 02:35:08, Dermot Gorman 02:39:59...07:30:27
2 Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C...Brian Furey 02:39:16, Sean Hehir 02:19:47, Louis Mc Carthy 02:32:13.....07:31:16
3 Clonliffe Harriers A.C.....Gary O'Hanlon 02:25:23, David Mansfield 02:30:47, Ernie Ramsey 02:51:44....07:47:54

MEN O35 Team
1 St. Finbarrs A.C. ...Michael Morgan 02:35:56, Michael Corbett 02:47:40, Joe Cunningham 02:48:47.....08:12:23
2 Donore Harriers ....Fergal Whitty 02:35:15, Andy Kinane 02:44:38, Patrick Moriarty 02:52:37...... 08:12:30
3 Clonmel A.C. ....David Ryan 02:39:57, Brian Long 02:46:37, Declan Curley 02:48:21..... 08:14:55

MEN O50 Team
1 Eagle A.C. ....Frank Hill M50 02:52:31, Ronan Boland 02:55:03, Martin Leahy 03:02:22...... 08:49:56
2 Tullamore Harriers A.C... Éanna Gowran 02:55:04, Raymond Flanagan 03:04:46, George Webb 03:15:57 ...09:15:47

3 Mullingar Harriers A.C... Eddie Newman 02:46:52, Matthew Glennon 03:06:40, Stephen Naughton 03:25:51..09:19:23

1 Pauline Curley 02:49:32 Tullamore Harriers A.C.
2 Jane Ann Healy-Meehan 02:54:51 Athenry A.C.
3 Laura Graham 02:56:46 Moyne A.C.

1 Sandra Lynch F35 03:05:59 Kilcoole A.C.
2 Aine O Reilly F35 03:06:04 Mullingar Harriers A.C.
3 Anne marie Needham F35 03:07:53 Westport A.C.

1 Helen Barry F40 02:58:34Sli Cualann A.C.
2 Gillian Wasson F40 03:04:00 Springwell Running Club
3 Mags Dempsey F40 03:08:37 Tracton A.C.

1 Sonia O Sullivan F45 03:03:39 Ballymore Cobh A.C.
2 Karen Lavelle F45 03:06:08 Star of the Sea A.C.
3 Anna Doris F45 03:11:35 Midleton A.C.

1 Joan Ennis F50 02:58:17 Grange/Fermoy A.C.
2 Olivia Sheerin F50 03:29:07 St. Michaels AC
3 Kathryn Carruthers F50 03:30:26 Ballymore Cobh A.C.

1 Susan Waterstone F55 03:14:45 Civil Service A.C.
2 Mary Sweeney F55 03:16:22 St. Finbarr s A.C.
3 Bernadette Manley F55 03:47:25 Raheny Shamrock A.C.

1 Mary Jennings F60 03:37:50 Waterford A.C.
2 Una Reilly F60 04:10:21 Liffey Valley A.C.
3 Mary Nolan-Hickey F60 04:16:09 Sli Cualann A.C.

1 Eileen O Brien F65 04:09:35 Lucan Harriers A.C.
2 Collette O Hagan F65 06:38:39 North East Runners A.C.

1 Brigid Quinn F70 04:39:47 Ballymena Runners AC
2 Terri Gough F70 05:32:07 West Waterford A.C.
3 Maggie Dunne F70 05:39:08 Grange/Fermoy A.C

1 Donore Harriers .....Amy Moriarty 03:15:22, Breda Mahony 03:27:12, Sinead Graham 03:29:20 .....10:11:54
2 Brothers Pearse A.C. ........Karen Clarke 03:19:57, Sarah O Meara 03:23:50, Sorcha Mc Cann 03:28:36...... 10:12:23
3 Springwell Running Club ......Gillian Wasson 03:04:00, Linda Gillen 03:31:13, Ciara Mc Sherry 03:38:40 .......10:13:53

Women O35 Team
1 Westport A.C.  .........Anne marie Needham 03:07:53, Marian O Malley 03:18:06, Michelle Needham 03:27:02..... 09:53:01
2 Ballymore Cobh A.C.......Sonia O Sullivan 03:03:39, Orla O Rourke 03:20:34, Kathryn Carruthers 03:30:26......09:54:39
3 Raheny Shamrock A.C......Annmarie Woods 03:07:55, Lorraine Byrne 03:15:29, Elaine Mc Nulty 03:37:26......10:00:50

WOMEN 050 Team
1 Raheny Shamrock A.C......Bernadette Manley 03:47:25, Mary Purdue-Smyth 03:52:38, Fiona Kirwan 03:55:57.... 11:36:00
2 Lucan Harriers A.C. .......Emer Mc Carthy 04:05:51, Eileen O Brien 04:09:35, Ursula Murphy 04:22:38.......12:38:04
3 Sligo A.C........ Mary Furey 03:46:42, Rose Young 04:39:47, Olivia Seery 05:49:18........14:15:47

Updated Results...(30th Oct)
The Men's individual placings can be seen HERE and the team placings HERE

The Women's individual placings can be seen HERE and the team placings HERE 

Original Provisional Results...
The Men's individual placings can be seen HERE and the team placings HERE

The Women's individual placings can be seen HERE and the team placings HERE 


Cian said...

Colin Meritt Carrignavar AC 1st O40 another Cork win not highlighted.

Anonymous said...

That is some time from Joan Ennis. It gives an age grade of between 90-94% or 2:21:00 - 2:29:00 in relation to the current male world record.

Keith S said...

Agree re Joan Ennis, what a gritty runner and what an improved runner, inspirational in a way to a guy like me in my early fifties, brilliant run and a gold medal well derserved, kudos also to Michael Morgan and the eagle m50 team, a brilliant all round team of very fit old men😉

Anonymous said...

How come Freddie Keron can be a member of raheny team but didn't win the national title?

John Desmond said...

From Ian O'Riordan of the Irish Times..."Finishing three places ahead of Hehir, in sixth, was Freddy Sittuk, the Kenyan-born runner who now resides largely in Ireland, and represents Raheny Shamrock. Indeed Sittuk was briefly declared the first Irish finisher, performing his post-race interview while wearing the gold medal around his neck (the Dublin Marathon doubles as the Athletics Ireland National Championships): however Athletics Ireland then checked their rulebook and decided Sittuk wasn’t actually the champion after all, as he doesn’t officially reside in the country."

Anonymous said...

That's amazing. Do AI have different rules for the National Marathon. There have been many XC and Track national titles won by athletes residing outside of Ireland with so many of our top middle distance athletes coming through the US colleges and basing themselves over there.

John Desmond said...

This is from P8 of the Athletics Ireland rule book...
Title Holder
An athlete is a holder of, or eligible to hold, an Irish Passport, and is affiliated to an (seems to some text missing here?)
Ordinarily resides on the island of Ireland, is a member of an affiliated club on the island of Ireland