Google+ Running in Cork, Ireland: Results & Photos of the Leevale Track & Field Meet - Sat 5th Apr 2014

Saturday, April 05, 2014

Results & Photos of the Leevale Track & Field Meet - Sat 5th Apr 2014

The senior races of annual Leevale Track and Field Meet was held at the CIT track on Saturday the 5th of Apr 2014. Conditions were a bit on the damp side for most of the competition.

Some results...
Mens 100m...David Hynes of Menapians AC in Wexford ran a time of 11.22 seconds, just ahead of Marcus Lawler of St.Lawerence O'Toole AC in 11.26.
Womens 100m....Phil Healy of Bandon AC who won a silver medal back in February at the National Senior Indoor Championships was the winner on this occasion over 100m with a time of 12.24 seconds. Kelly Proper of Ferrybank AC in Waterford AC was second with 12.30.

Mens 200m...This time, it was Marcus Lawler who took first with a time of 21.87 seconds.
Womens 200m...Sarah Lavin who is one of the country top hurdlers took the win in the 200m sprint with a time of 24.85 seconds, just ahead of Kelly Proper in 24.98.

Sarah Lavin (R) edging out Kelly Proper in the womens 200m sprint. Pic: Gearóid Ó Laoi

In the 400m races, Paul Murphy of Ferrybank AC won the mens race in 48.65 seconds while Jenna Bromell of Emerald AC in Limerick won the womens race in 56.89.

Mens 800m...In the mens race, Damian Landers of St.Johns AC won in a time of 1:56.95 with Liam Hennessy in second place with 1:57.13.
Womens 800m...In the womens 800m, 17 year old Louise Shanahan of Leevale AC ran a tactical race staying behind her team mate Clare McSweeney for most of the race before putting in a strong kick with about 120m to go to finish well ahead of the rest of the field. Louise's time was 2:11.01 with Nadia Power in second place with 2:13.54.

In the mens 1500m race, Conor Walter of Leevale AC won in 4:01.48 while in the mens 3000m, Ben Thistlewood of Leevale AC won in 8:48.77.
In the womens 3000m, Sinead O'Connor of Leevale AC won in a time of 10:12.53.

Sinead O'Connor and Ben Thistlewood of Leevale AC...respective winners of the womens and mens 3000m race. Pic : Gearoid O'Laoi
In the mens 110m hurdles, Edmond O'Halloran won in 16.48 seconds while in the womens 100m hurdles, Sarah Lavin had her second win of the day with a time of 14.05s, a full second ahead of Shannon Dawkins in seconds place.

Full results can be seen in this PDF document.

1) Gearóid Ó Laoi has a gallery of photos HERE
2) Doug Minihane has a gallery of photos HERE

No comments: