Google+ Running in Cork, Ireland: A look at some of the contenders for the 2017 Ballycotton ‘10’

Saturday, March 11, 2017

A look at some of the contenders for the 2017 Ballycotton ‘10’

In this article, John Walshe of Ballycotton Runing Promotions looks at the elite field for the 2017 Ballycotton '10' race and who might take the title.

Mick Clohisey (Raheny) – ran for Ireland in the marathon at the Rio Olympics, former Irish cross-country, 10,000 metres and 10km road champion, finished 10th in the European Clubs cross-country last month and also won the Enniscorthy 10km in 29:59. Second in Ballycotton back in 2010 in 50:39, no doubt will be expecting a much faster time on this occasion.

Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe) – Won Ballycotton five years in a row from 2011 to 2015, fastest time on the course of 48:58. Current Irish marathon champion, having won the title at Dublin last October

Michael Harty (East Cork) – third last year in 50:00, hoping to break that barrier this year. On top form at the moment, having won the Irish Masters cross-country at Waterford and breaking the course record when winning the Adare 10km since returning from altitude training in Kenya

Alan O’Shea (Bantry) – former winner of Ballycotton ‘10’ in 2007, third two years ago. Won the Dungravan 10-miler last month and currently building up for the Rotterdam Marathon in a month’s time.

John Mason (Canada) – a 2:22 marathon runner, trained with Michael Harty in Kenya.

Other entrants include Kevin Maunsell (Clonmel); Sean McGrath (East Cork); Mike Carmody (An Bru); Philip Harty (West Waterford); Ben Thistlewood and Barry Donovan (Leevale).

Siobhan O’Doherty (Borrisokane) – won Ballycotton three years ago in 57:32, won Dungarvan 10-mile last month in exactly the same time. Also finished second on three occasions in Ballycotton.

Aoife Cooke (Youghal) – last year’s winner in 59:57, ran a personal best of 58:30 when finishing third in Dungarvan. Ran a personal best for four miles last Sunday when winning the Killeagh race in 22:17.

Jill Hodgins (Cork) – Second in Ballycotton three years ago, also took second spot in Dungarvan last month in 58:14.

Other entrants include: Dee Grady (Ennis TC); Grace Lynch (Iveragh).

No comments: